Interview with Jeremy Eye

If you could go back in time to tell your younger self one thing, to what time would you go back to and what would you say?

“Don’t be afraid to fail. The most positive events in my life have been direct results of things not going exactly in line with my “script” that I set for myself.  I believe that’s because failure forces you out of your comfort zone and makes you take a look at life in a different way.”

What has been the biggest challenge of your musical career so far?0005269950_10

“I’ve always struggled with writer’s block, and overthinking my song-writing.  There always seems to be this underlying fear that I will never put any work out into the world, which I wrote about a lot on this album.

“This got so overwhelming for me that I barely even enjoyed playing guitar or singing for a while, until one day about two years ago my friend Zack Volkers and I decided to drop everything, and travel across the country playing music at various open mic nights for nothing else but the love of music. We performed in a different state every night, slept on the floors of strangers and friends, and the entire experience helped me remember what made me fall in love with writing and performing music in the first place.

“With this newfound reminder of my love of music, I was finally able to put everything aside and begin writing again. I made a conscious decision to just work on one track at a time. It was also helpful that my producer, Ian Marquis, was so open minded and positive in the project – always bringing new ideas to the table to get me out of my creative box.”

What did you dream about last night?/ What is the last dream you remember?

“I’ve been having very vivid dreams lately, but the theme lately has been seeing people in dreams that I haven’t seen in years. Not quite sure why, but it’s always a unique experience to say the least.”

 A penguin wearing a top hat walks into the room, why is he there and what does he say?

“First of all, let me say that any penguin wearing a top hat is going places in life, and I’m sure he’d be pretty damn smooth. I’d imagine he’d walk to the bar, approach the prettiest penguin he can find, and say ‘Excuse me miss, you’re so sweet that you give me Happy Feet.’”

What’s the inspiration behind the song ‘i81’?

“i81 was a metaphorical song that I wrote at a different time in my life about chasing something that I thought I wanted, and finally accepting that after sulking and beating myself up over not getting there, I could turn around and live my life, and be just fine.”

What is your biggest fear?

“The fact that war has evolved into one missile away from wiping out the entire human race has always been utterly terrifying to me.”

And finally, what are you currently working on and what can we expect to see next?

“Currently I am performing shows to spread the word about my debut album, “It’s Okay, We Can Still Move On” which is going to be available on Spotify, iTunes, and anywhere else that music is sold online. I’ll be hosting an album release party with a bunch of friends and family that evening (which will be an extremely special night that I’m looking forward to) and will be streaming the performance online. You can keep yourself posted on that stream info by following me on twitter (@jeremyeye) and Facebook (Facebook.com/jeremyeye).”

You can also pre-order Jeremy’s album , “It’s Okay, We Can Still Move On” and check out live dates on his website: http://jeremyeye.com/

One thought on “Interview with Jeremy Eye

Leave a Reply

